about page image.jpg

ASWGA recognises industry excellence by facilitating and supporting wool competitions both regionally and nationally.

Current entry forms will be available when competitions are announced.

Ermenegildo Zegna Fleece Competitions

The Ermenegildo Zegna Group is one of Italy’s best-known and most dynamic family businesses. Young entrepreneur, Ermenegildo founded the family’s first wool mill in Italy in 1910 to create woollen fabrics that had to be “the most beautiful in the world”. Even then, Ermenegildo had an international vision, ahead of his time, to source the best quality natural fibres, directly from their country of origin. Zegna has long been a supporter of Australian wool. Today, Zegna are one of the biggest global producers of fine fabrics from noble fibres. To celebrate the importance of wool and to incentivise wool producers to evolve the fineness and excellence of this fibre Ermenegildo Zegna holds competitions to encourage Australian wool growers.

The Ermenegildo Zegna Awards, now recognised worldwide as the most important competition in the wool industry, commenced in Tasmania in 1963 when the first Ermenegildo Zegna Perpetual Trophy was presented.

In 1980, ASWGA and Zegna launched a national competition, the Extrafine Wool Trophy, to recognise the dedication to excellence shown by all Australian fine wool growers. In 2002 a second competition, called Ermenegildo Zegna Vellus Aureum Trophy was introduced. The competitions have grown in popularity and are now a highlight of the wool industry calendar.

Information on how to enter the 2018 competition can be found here.

Competition results

The 55th Ermenegildo Zegna Wool Competition Results 2017-18

Congratulations to David & Angie Waters, “Eastview”, Tarrangower Merinos in the New England region for taking out first place in the Superfine Wool Trophy for the second year running, followed by Allan & Carolyn Phillips of “Glen Stuart” in the Tasmanian region coming in second, and in third place, Ed & Jill Hundy of “Windradeen” in the Mudgee region.

Runners up in the Superfine wool trophy are:
4th place – Simon & Ann-Louise Cameron – “Kingston”, Tasmania
5th place – Clive & Margaret Smith – “Mulgowan” – Amiens, QLD
6th place – Rodney & Carol Westmore – “Patterdale”, Tasmania
7th place – D & B Cameron – “Gowrie”, Guyra NSW
8th place – Philip & Jenni Carlon – “Queenlee” Uralla NSW
9th place – Michael & Carla Cornally – “Jemminda Pastoral”, Tenterden NSW
10th place – Danny & Megan Picker – “Hillcreston Park”, Bigga NSW

The Vellus Aureum competition has been won for the 1st time by Ross & Rebecca Blake of “Allandale”, NSW, with David & Susan Rowbottom of “Rowensville” in the Hamilton region winning second place and Annie Hutchinson of “Kentucky Station” in the New England region taking out third place.

Congratulations to all the winners and placegetters in the 2017-18 Ermenegildo Superfine Wool Trophy & Vellus Aureum competitions, and a special thanks to Danny Picker and the fleece competition committee for all their hard work in coordinating the fleeces, assisting with the set up for judging and display at the presentation dinner.


ASWGA Fleece Competition

ASWGA holds an annual national Fleece Competition. The first place prize winner receives the Cleckheaton Grand Champion Fleece Trophy sponsored by Australian Country Spinners. These awards are divided into four categories to better represent traditional fine crimping wools. Based on the Bradford score the categories are 90s and finer, 80s, 74s and 70s. Scores are given for the fleece attributes of weight, quality, yield, trueness, uniformity evenness and excellence.

Winners are announced from each ASWGA region Albury-Wodonga, Ararat-Barunah, Goulburn-Yass, Hamilton, Mudgee, New England, Tasmania and Western Australia.

Competition results

Congratulations to the winners of the ASWGA Fleece Competition 2016/17

The complete list of winners:

Jill & Ed Hundy
“Windradeen” NSW
Grand Champion Fleece
1st Place - Class 90’s & Finer
1st Place in the Mudgee Region

Penny & Russell Hartwich
“Kelseldale”, Vic
1st Place Class 80’s & 74’s
1st Place in the Ararat/Barunah Region

Lesleann & Mark Waters
“Riverton” NSW
1st Place Class 70’s
1st Place in the New England Region

Margaret & Ian Humphry
“Avondale” Vic
1st Place in the Albury/Wodonga Region

Megan & Danny Picker
“Hillcreston Park”, NSW
1st Place Class 80’s
1st Place in the Goulburn/Yass Region

Kathy & Trevor Mibus
“Glenara Merinos”, Vic
1st Place in the Hamilton Region

Carol & Allan Phillips
“Glen Stuart”, TAS
1st Place in the Tasmanian Region

Faye & James Pepper
“Mumballview”  WA
1st Place in the West Australian Region

 The “Cleckheaton Grand Champion trophy” won by Jill & Ed Hundy of Windradeen Mudgee NSW. 

The “Cleckheaton Grand Champion trophy” won by Jill & Ed Hundy of Windradeen Mudgee NSW. 


 ASWGA Annual Photographic Competition 2018

Thanks to everyone that has submitted entries and have supported the competition in the past. We hope to increase the number of entries each year making the competition bigger and better! We encourage all ASWGA members, their immediate family and employees to participate. 

The competition aims to visualise the provenance and promote the excellence and dedication of ASWGA Members in the production and processing of their superfine Merino wool, achieving the highest quality standards enhancing this through the ASWGA Rams head™.  All entries must be received at the office by 30 June 2018 to be eligible. 

More information and the 2018 entry form are available here.

The 2017 winners' photo, below, is also featured on the cover of our Annual Report. Titled “Full circle - Suits and the mob that provided the wool”  was taken by Simon Cameron “Kingston”, Tasmania

Screen Shot 2017-11-28 at 2.39.32 pm.png